New Stars for Old by Marc Read - Candy Jar Books

Search
Go to content

Main menu:

CJ Books

New Stars for Old by Marc Read

From Aristotle's unusual domestic relationships, and the worries of a hungover Ptolemy, through a mysterious crime in late medieval Rome, and Christopher Columbus' troubles with the Spanish court, to the difficulties of finding an appropriate memorial to Newton,
Marc Read's first book is a collection of twenty short stories, giving a down-to-earth and very human account of the important scientists and visionaries from the history of astronomy as the search for the truth about the Universe.

Fusing historical fact with dramatic fiction, New Stars For Old is a ground-breaking, informative and hugely entertaining book that will appeal to fans of popular science and puts flesh on the bones of the characters that created it.


Will appeal to fans of Brian Cox, Bill Bryson and Lucy Worsley.



To order, use the links below the cover.

Also available on Kindle.

Reviews

"Entertaining and briskly written, this is a jolly good read for anyone interested in the early history of astronomy."  –  Astronomy Now Magazine

"New Stars For Old tells this story very well and brings history to life in an entertaining and informative way."  
–  BBC Sky At Night Magazine (Book of the Month)

"The writing style is entertaining and engaging, weaving tales of accomplishment with those of personal hardship ... readers will both enjoy the book as well as learning of the history of astronomy in the process."  
–  All About Space Magazine


About the Author

Marc Read was born on the channel island of Jersey in 1971. Having always been interested in history and science, Marc has studied these fields extensively which have granted him a Masters degree in physics and philosophy, and a PhD in history and the philosophy of science. He currently lives in Newcastle-upon-Tyne with his wife and two children. After a teaching career that has taken him from London to Washington DC, Marc now teaches physics and philosophy at the Royal Grammar School in Newcastle. When he is not working and the weather is good, he enjoys taking his motorbike out for a spin.

Visit his website: www.candy-jar.co.uk/marcread.html


If you like this, you might like:

    

Hardback Edition



Cover artwork by Candy Jar

ISBN: 978-0957154865
£9.00 (+ postage)


Download Sample Chapter

Order Online Now!



OR


 
Back to content | Back to main menu